January 14, 2013

  • I quess I should be quilting

    Its kinda funny how things can fall into place.  I had some scraps to begin with then I took this quilting class.  Then the paint store at the corner was throwing out their samples into the dumpster and when taking out the trash one day there were all these sample books that I’ve been saving to do something with for later.  Doh, why not quilt with them.  Now that I know how to do it I can work these into some blocks and piece them together.  Since the grandmothers flower garden is my favorite I think these would work up nicely into flowers for a pillow, bag or small quilt of some kind.  Then as we all do I started talking about my interest and endeavours.  I blabbed to some of my clients sharing my interest and talking about how I was taking a hand quilting/piecing class.  One lady who works in a furniture store said come on by and get some of the samples they are getting rid of so I did and now have a collection of various upholstery type fabrics – HOW COOL IS THAT!  Then another customer who I knew sewed for a living and did interior decorating started telling me how she was entering her quilts into a competition and that she has one on display in one of the fabric store around here.  She then told me that she was getting rid of some of her quilting stuff and would bring it by some day when shes in town.  What a nice gal she is.  So today I’ll get to the sewing store to check out her quilt.  She mentioned this big quilt show extravaganza type event that is in february in Hampton Va that she is entering the quilt in.  So that sounds like something to check out in February.  Oh, and lets not forget about the Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival in May.  I’m soooooo hoping to get to it this year.  Haven’t been in awhile and I’m keeping my fingers crossed that everything falls into place for it to be possible this year laughing

Comments (2)

  • Whoo hooo! That is just so awesome to get all those bits and pieces and make them into something! I used to dream of just hopping in the car and zipping the the MS&WF. Now I am going to be half way across the country in about two weeks. I’m pretty sure I’ll find a lot of wooly gatherings in CO though. I’ve already heard of a yarrrrrn crawl in Sept. Not gonna miss that!!!!

  • @spinner_mom - Ha, if I can swing it to make it to the MS&WF I’m so gonna take lots of pics.  It’s not like I need anything but sooooo just wanna be there and take it all in.  It’s so fun to be there around other people that get the whole fiber thing, LOL.  When you go back to your real world and your around your local buds some of them just don’t get it and are like, your knitting?  I bet you’ll get waaaay more fiber action in CO.  Way cool!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *