May 26, 2013

  • Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival : )

    Made it to the MSWF on a last minute whim.  Got a call from a gal I met at a sock knitting class and she wanted to be bop up there for a day and we just decided to go for it.  We both work crazy schedules so the only day we could both go was on sunday.  Her mom came along and we all left before the sun came up that morning and came home when the sun went down.  It made for a long day but was a good time and it was soooo nice to see some of the vendures that I’ve seen in the past.  Susan from Susans fiber shop gave me a lesson on how to use a set of carding combs so now I know how to use them.  I’d like to get a pair at some point and you can spin right off the comb too.  I always say I’m going to take lots of pictures but that just never happens.  There is too much to get involved in and too many people to chat with and its like WOW!  Any way, here’s a pic of something I think is – WAY COOL!  I almost bought this thing, HA.  For those of you who think you have crochet everything here you have it a rock cover/cozy.  I am soooo gonna make one of these.  Would this be considered yarn/thread bombing?  Hmmmm, not sure.  Anyway, isn’t it neat.  Got a few photos but not much.  Couldn’t get my camera to take a pic of this without the flash blurring it out so my friend took the pic and sent it to me from her phone.  THANKS!  I did buy two hanks of yarn, a pattern for a scarf, a batt of yellowy orange fiber to spin and a pattern for a quilt and felting needle.  The quilt pattern shows you how to do felting on a piece of wool material and then you can embellish it with sewing/needlework etc. and use it in a bag, quilt whatever or where ever you imagination takes you.  So if I get around to it I’ll take a pic and share it.  HAPPY MEMORIAL DAY WEEKEND laughing

Comments (3)

  • That is one festival that I WILL get to one year!!! Soooo many people have stories about going, and all the pictures just make me drool! Sounds like you had a great time! I saw a really cool needle felted thing the other day that the lady had made a picture on an afghan and then put a monogram in the corner, and that had me thinking of getting a needle felting kit myself! You’ll have to take pics and let us know how your needle felting embellishing goes.

  • @spinner_mom - Hey the lady that had the needle felting is Debora Konchinsky and you can check out her work at http://www.critterpat.com  I stood in her booth for a long time just looking at her work.  These quilts/walhangings that  were amazing.  She felted on these sheep and then did embroidery and patchwork to fill in the whole thing, it was amazing.  Ha, I couldn’t stop looking at it.  I bet kids would like it because you could look at it and probably see something new each time.  The monogram sounds cool.  Did you see it online? 

  • @spinner_mom - If you click on the – go to cataloge button – it takes you to where you can see the sheep faces bag, a new flock of sheep and the crazy sheep that she had displayed in her booth.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *