January 1, 2013

  • Happy Two Thousand Thirteen!

    Thats two thousand thirteen as I like to say it.  Much to the shagrin of one of my clients.  Ha, he asked me how I would say 2013 and I said two thousand thirteen.  In his true crumudginly fashion he began to rant and spew all the reasons for why he didn’t like it when people said it that way and yada yada yada.  He also doesn’t like the way I spell colour.  I think it has something to do with him being an editor at the newspaper.  He has to stare at the word on my price list everytime he comes in and points it out to me, LOL.  But my teacher told me it was okay when I spelled it that way back in elementary school.  She did point out that there were two ways of spelling it and that they were both correct.  So there!  Besides I personally think it is (to me) more descriptive.  Like the word especial to me is more descriptive than special.  It’s just more fancy smancy to me.

    Yesterday I went by a friends and helped her with some spinning.  For xmas she had woven this scarf for me on her loom that I helped her bring down from her upstairs into her new studio room.  It’s wonderful and the yarn she made it with is some of the yarn I showed her how to spin. It’s inspired me to try weaving with some of my spun yarns.  I got this large adjustable emboidery frame for .99 (ah this keyboard doesn’t have a cent symbol on it – hmmm).  Anyway, this embroidery frame (two round rods that have wood braces with holes in them for each of the rods to go thru and you can tighten them with these wing nuts) anyway, its really large.  When I first saw it at the thrift it was prices at 2 bucks and I didn’t want to spend that much on it.  Every time I went to the thrift there it would be pushed into the corner and still there waiting for someone to take it home.  So one day while doing my usual rounds I saw it again and this time it was .99 cents.  So I picked it up and walked around with it in my hands while looking at everything else still not convinced that I needed it.  Then it beguiled me into thinking I could use it as a loom since its so large and shazam that is what I thought I’d do with it and it would be adjustable and for .99 cent, HEE HAW!!! Seeing the scarf my friend made really inspired me.  So this will be a new adventure for two thousand thriteen happy.

    Ha, I wanted to start the new year off right so got a bath and did some organizing.  Today will be a planning day and get her done day to get the new year started off right.  I so got major paper work to get done which will probably take me two months to do but I don’t want to be unprepared for tax time. 

    Xmas day I did a bunch of yard work since it was such a nice day and sunny and I had the day off.  So I gave all the roses and bushes a haircut and planted some pansies and wrapped up some plants to protect them from winter.  What a good feeling to get that done.  The best xmas gift I got was my mom got all inspired and she went and got rid of a lot of stuff and reduced her hoarding load to where I had to break down all these boxes like 30 some boxeslaughing then she cleaned out the refridgerator and the bathrooms.  What a gal.  That was sooooooo awsome!  I loaded up the car and it was packed with all the recyclables that I just wanted it out and off to the recyclable containers I went.  Ha, looked like a lot of other people had the same idea since it was PACKED.  Just wish people would break down their boxes like your supposed to.  Its good to see that a lot of it is all getting recycled.  Before you had to seperate everything and you had bins for this and that.  But now a new company has taken it over and the bins are so much nicer and you just have to dump it all in there.  They even have a seperate container for shoes and clothes.  The first time I went to the containers there was this guy there putting up signs and I was seperating the stuff to put in the bins and he said, you don’t have to do that anymore.  I was like, ARE YOU SURE!  He introduced himself showed me the signs and told me all about the company.  HOW COOL IS THAT!  So its a lot easier/less of a hassle to recycle now, YEAH!!!

    Went thru and tended to the african violets that we started from some leaf cuttings and come of them needed seperating since sometimes you get two growing out of one.  Sooooo excited about them since they are all doing well and I’m psyched that this type grows well under the kitchen light at the kitchen sink.  We had several different kinds but some of them didn’t do that well so got rid of the ones that didn’t like it there and made leaf cuttings of the one that did like it there and now we got 6 of them growing.  I think this one is called chippery trail or something like that.  Will have to double check that one.  It’s like a miniature trailing variety.  Who knew?

    And like a knit nut, I started casting on another hat when I’ve already got several things on the needles that arn’t done yet, jeepers.  Cheers to ya all in TWO THOUSAND THIRTEEN  and don’t forget your black eyed peas laughing

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *