Month: November 2012

  • Thanksgiving has come and gone

    Happy belated Thanksgiving. My mom and I went to RedLobster before to use up a gift card I got last xmas.  I’ve been soooo busy with work that I just wanted to veg out during the day off for Thanksgiving. The weather was really nice here it was actually in the hight 50′s.  Now it just seems like its 9pm when its actually 6pm.  Still got to get used to that when I look at the clock at work.  Ha, when I look at the clock and think its 9 and see its 6 I’m like, WOW. 

    It is winter or at least it will officially be winter on dec. the 21st.  Lately when I’ve been taking out the trash I saw that the xmas catus is in bloom.  It’s got all these white buds on it.  Maybe I should bring it in before it freezes.  Also, while checking out the xmas cactus I noticed this praying mantis hanging upside down on the fence and it was sort of making these bobbing swaying motions.  Then I thought OMG this thing is shedding its skin

    Then there are these trailing nasturtiums that we planted.  They didn’t do that well all summer then when it got cooler its like they love it and have just trailed all around and got so nice and green and are orange/red and yellow/orange.  I’ve been gathering the chickpea looking seeds to plant next year.  They are just so beautiful. 

     

  • Fun in the foodlanes

    Lately when I’ve been at the local foodmart, my favorite being Kroger, I’ve had some fun experiences while shopping.  Usually there is someone there that you click with while strolling thru the isles or is at least experiencing some of the sticker shock or just out to have a good time while shopping and making the best of it and being cordial.  Who isn’t recognizing the rise in food prices.  The older I get the more I notice it and have started sounding like my parents and their parents before them when telling of how low prices were when they were younger.  Anyway, the last couple of time in the oatmeal/cereal section there has been just one box of the whole oats so I get that one.  There is a run on oatmeal or I’m always hitting it on a, NEED TO RESTOCK MOMENT.  The soup section is my favorite because I’m always stocking up on soups (bean and tomatoe laughing)  I have been having some fun convos in the soup section and last time this woman was standing there with me and she grabbed a can of vegetable beef soup and said, I gotta get more of this since my son ate the last of it, EVERY LAST BIT OF IT!  Sympathetically, I turned and said well then he outta be here restocking the pantry with it.  As she rolled her cart away, she yelled back, He’s 30 years old and well his girlfriend has a coupon for the Outback restaurant so he’s out with her tonight for dinner.  I yelled back, Oh heck no, THAT JUST AIN”T RIGHT!  She shook her head in agreement and continued shopping.  I almost turned and said, hey we outta get outta here and go to the OUTBACK and surprise them and tell em were on a date, LOL.  I mean really stunned I bet that would of taken the snap outta his bloomin onion pleased