Month: December 2012

  • Ode to 2012.  It was a sunflower kinda year and my mom coined our yard in the midst of all the other town houses in the horseshore village that we live in – Sunflower Alley.  I just couldn’t help it all the pictures on the seed packages looked so AWSOME!  I just kept poking the seeds in the ground.  Some here, some there or no maybe we should put some over there.  Low and behold they grew, and grew and grew, Ha, and so we had like all these sunflowers everywhere.  Who knew there we so many different kinds of them.  My favorites are the large flowered tall Mammoth ones.  They make you feel like a munchkin when they are towering over your head laughing.

    So I quess I’m gonna git back to me blogging.  I’ve been in a fog or should I say cloud as they say now.  Like more in a sort of holding pattern for 3 YEARS now.  I feel like I can emerge now.  Basically I haven’t blogged much because I starred in my own Life Time movie.  I wasn’t sure what knitters or the blogging community would think if I started blogging about it all pouring my heart out and filling the screen with none other than my own reality ramblings.  So I did a lot of journaling, writing stuff out that could probably make an interesting movie all in two giant ring binders.  It took me 3 years and two big ole ring binders full of info, written out documentation, tear stained pages full of what I had to get out before I could ever move on and just get on with my life.  Its very effective, journaling.  I thought about making a special blog about it but then wasn’t sure the timing was right.  Maybe in the future.  If you’ve ever seen one of those lifetime movies where the person is dating someone, is swept off their feet in a romance and then comes to find out that person isn’t who they say they are and that their whole life that they have presented to you is just all made up – NONE OF IT IS TRUE!  Well, that’s what I was dealing with and it has really made me thing about what it is I believe when people tell me something about themselves.  Especially someone that you let into that special space where you begin to share your lifes with each other and you think you can really trust them and the whole time they are lieing to you simply to take everything and anything they can get out of you and leave you hanging, alone.  Without any closure at all when it comes to accountability for anything they said they were going to do or said about themselves ever being show to be true.  I can’t believe I ever let someone like that into my life.  I always thought I was a better judge of people.  But when your dealing with someone who is a sociopath/psychopath that has no concience or remorse maybe its harder to tell them from the rest of the people.  Who knows, anyway, I’m just glad I got out of it alive.  I still can’t believe it happend but the reality is that it did and then you are left with it all yourself and the person who you thought was real is gone like a puff of smoke.  Then when you begin to try and find out who, what, where you begin to find out things that you don’t want know.  Then your find that there are other people beind the scense who are involved like gypsy’s all working to rip you off.  What I’ve come to call it is just plain old FULL TILT CRAZY!  So that kinda tells ya where I’ve been for awhile.

    I’m sooooo looking forward to 2013 laughing

  • Merry Christmas

    Larry the LasVegas show fish says – MERRY CHRISTMAS ! ! ! silly

  • gifts of the food kind

    YUM! A customer brought in some artichoke spinach dip and the box of crackers to boot.  Like, HOW COOL IS THAT!  She said to put it in the oven and heat it up and then enjoy on crackers.  So I put it in these mini crocks and heated it up and YUM YUM YUM.  My mom and I enjoyed it while watching the BBC show Are You Being Served.  I’ve never made this and probably never will but I sure do enjoy eating it happy.

    About the previous knitting.  In the pic the hat with the vertical stripes of blue/browns/orange/and grays is knit flat in mistake rib and then decreased a little at the top, then folded in half and stitched up.  It started out as a cowl neck warmer thing that a customer brought in to show me that she was making and she told me how to make it.  Well, got it knitted up into the cowl and tried it on and it was too tight for a cowl so decided to knit on with my bad self and make it into a hat instead. 

    The rainbow looking hats are some experiments in short row knitting.  I love this yarn (Bernat Mosaic – the colour ways are really cool) and it looks great with the striping effect it makes so I thought short rows would be really cool for a hat.  The finished one is done with the short rows more towards the top of the hat to give it the shaping at the top to close it in.  The one in progress is done with the shortrows throught out the row giving a more gradual shaping as in more like the shape of an xmas tree. 

    The green one is done in the round on double points and knit from the top down.  First time I’ve ever knit a hat from the top down.  I like how that one has sort of a peaked top on it. 

    Then there is the giant cable scarf that I learned how to make with 3 strands of yarn on giant size 17 needles shocked.  I learned how to do this on the www.creativebug.com site where you pay for a subscription and can watch/learn from all the craft videos on there.  That was my gift to me for the holidays so when I’m huddled inside during the cold days of winter I can watch the videos and get crafty.  Now I just got to stop falling asleep in the middle of the video and waking up in the morning finding the kindle fire beside me and be like DOH!!!  Xmas is on a tues and we are closed sun and mon so it will be soooooo nice to just chill and get things done around the house at my own pace and get ready for TWO THOUSAND THIRTEEN -  I’m soooo ready to be there laughing

  • knit pics

    Gawd, I’m still figuring out all this how to post pics and stuff since I just haven’t been on here in eons and not familiar with how to navigate, Pft.  Anyway, here is a pic of some of the knitting thats been boing on.  I’ll post about it all later since I gotta get the train and get me buns to work.  Merry xmas everyone : )