Month: September 2013

  • I’m having a baby!

    048

    A watermelon baby that is.  I think its due date has arrived and I’m soooo excited, Ha.  Went on line to read about how to know when a watermelon is ready to pick and hope that I’ve got it all right.  I patted the melons at the market to see how they sounded and have been patting on this one to see if it sounds the same, Ha, if that even is an indicator.  From what I’ve read about it all several ways of telling if its ready to pick are, the white coloured part of the mellon from where it lies on the ground – when that turns a creamy yellow then that is supposed to tell you that it time to pick it, also there is a curly cue tendril that is up near the mellon and when that gets all dryed out and shriveled that also tells you its ready, and there is supposed to be a little tiny leaf that is near the tendril as well that will be dryed out, although I didn’t see that on this one.  So all in all there are two mellons that have come this far.  There were 3 at one point but when they were small one of the wee ones split open and rotted, : (.  If you’ve never grown watermelons then I will tell you that the vines will take up a LOT of room.  I went to trim back the vine and was disappointed when I found a wee melon forming that I hadn’t seen and it got snipped, dang-it.  So what seems to be the case is the melons tend to form farther away from the vine once it starts spreading out at least that is how it has done on this one.  So today will be the day to see if all the conditions and signs have all been susinct so to speak for it all to be a sweet success : ).