Month: May 2012

  • knitting socks : )

    Wasn’t able to make it to the MDSW festival, so sad, but will for sure make it next year.  Plans just didn’t fall together for it to work out this time.  So decided to take a class.  I saw the LYS was offering sock knitting classes in the evening.  WOOT!!!  So I signed up.  Sue at The Knitting Corner (owner/knitter) was teaching the class.  Last nite was the third class and I, TURNED MY FIRST HEEL EVER, and now proceeding on the gusset.  We are working on double points and I decided to get an extra set of needles and work the other sock sorta at the same time as the other.  In other words work the ribbing on one then the other.  Work the heel flap on one and then the other ect. till ya have two socks.  So far I’m ahead of the other sock since I got the heel flap and now working on the gusset on one and haven’t worked all the ribbing on the other sock.  Working them back to back like that sorta keeps things even at least sort of so you can have two similar socks.  I mean I’m not that fussy about it but heck arn’t the two feet sorta just at least different if you really look at them anyway.  I’ve got this habit of wanting to try or at least fantasize about trying other things to see if they would look cool as I’m working on a project and that isn’t always helpful.  I’ll get all caught up in the ideas for the project I’m wanting to work on or try that I loose all interest in what I’m working on.  So that is why I love classes because the teacher and other people can help you stay focused and there is a determind goal your reaching and the teacher can sorta coral you back on the tracks of finishing what your their to do, LOL.  The socks I’ve made in the past were the tube sock variety that hug the foot with spiral ribbing and were just fine but I’ve always wanted to learn how to turn a heel.  It’s sooooo cool.  I love the teacher/shop owner Sue she shared all her tips for knitting the socks and I hope I remember them.  I think this is the perfect project for me right now since its small and you can carry it around with you.  Plus its great for using leftovers too if you just want to use up a decorative yarn on the ribbing at the top.  I bet I could use up the handspun I’ve done and make up some funky socks.  Can’t wait to try that but gotta get the basics of what the heck I’m doing down for now.  Will post some pics later when I get a chance.  SOCK HAPPY laughing